Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Earthquake in Eastern Turkey 23 Oct 2011 M7.1 to M7.3

CEDIM analyzes the earthquake and its possible impacts

An earthquake of M7.1 to 7.3 hit Eastern Turkey on October 23. CEDIM has analysed the earthquake and its possible and observed social and economic impacts. Researchers from different scientific disciplines contribute to CEDIM's forensic disaster analyses, which have been released in different reports since October 24.

The new follow-up report prepared by the CEDIM Forensic Earthquake Analysis Group is online now:

Report No. 4: Comparing the current impact of the Van Earthquake to past earthquakes in Eastern Turkey
(download pdf)

This follow-up report for the Eastern Turkey earthquake of October 23, 2011 builds on significantly improved information on earthquake source and ground motion characteristics, on observed losses and on the regional socio-economic context. Additionally, the analysis of previous regional damaging earthquakes is concisely documented in this report.

The CEDIM Forensic Earthquake Analysis Group reports are widely distributed (for instance on the relief-web for UN institutions and on the EERI clearing house web-page). CEDIM has been invited to participate in the forthcoming meeting in Van on earthquake impact and recovery items organized by Turkish institutions.

Report Nr. 3, Oct. 26 2011: Shelter report for the Oct. 23 2011 Eastern Turkey Earthquake (download pdf)
Report No. 2, Oct 25 2011: (download pdf)
Report No. 1, Oct. 24 2011: (download pdf)

Additionally, the severe weather information web service Wettergefahren-Frühwarnung provides information on weather conditions in Eastern Turkey (in German language).

For continuously updated information please go to earthquake-report.com.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Erdbeben in der Osttürkei am 23.10.2011 (M7.1 - M7.3)

CEDIM analysiert das Erdbeben und seine Folgen

CEDIM erforscht die Folgen des Erdbebens, das am 23. Oktober 2011 den Osten der Türkei erschütterte. Zu den forensichen Analysen zum Erdbeben und seinen möglichen Folgen tragen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler verschiedener Fachdisziplinen bei. Die Ergebnisse sind seit dem 24. Oktober in Berichten veröffentlicht worden.

Der neueste Bericht der CEDIM Forensic Earthquake Analysis Group ist nun online:

Report Nr. 4, 2.11.2011: Comparing the current impact of the Van Earthquake to past earthquakes in Eastern Turkey (pdf)

Der follow-up report zum Erdbeben in der Osttürkei am 23. Oktober 2011 basiert auf einer besseren Informationslage zu Erdbebenherd und Bodenbeschleunigung, zu beobachteten Schäden und zum regionalen sozioökonomischen Kontext. Zudem enthält der Bericht eine umfassende Analyse früherer Erdbeben in der Region. 

Die Reports der CEDIM Forensic Earthquake Analysis Group haben weite Verbreitung gefunden (zum Beispiel auf relief-web, der Informationsplattform für UN-Institutionen, und über das Earthquake Engineering Research Institut EERI). CEDIM ist eingeladen worden, an dem bevorstehenden, von türkischen Einrichtungen organisierten Workshop in Van zu den Folgen des Erdbeben und zu Fragen des Wiederaufbaus teilzunehmen. 

Report Nr. 3, 26.10.2011: Statusreport mit Schwerpunkt Situation in den Notunterkünften (pdf)
Report Nr. 2, 25.10.2011: Statusreport (pdf)
Report Nr. 1, 24.10.2011: Statusreport (pdf)

Auf Wettergefahren-Frühwarnung sind zudem Informationen zu aktuellen Wetterverhältnissen und Klima in der Osttürkei zusammengestellt.

Fortlaufend aktualisierte Informationen zum Beben sind bei http://de.earthquake-report.com/  zu lesen.