Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

User Oriented Visualisation

User Oriented Visualisation
contact:

Danijel Schorlemmer

Project description

Aufbau_EvEx

Within the new project “Forensic Disaster Analysis” (FDA), CEDIM started an interdisciplinary research initiative to analyze natural disasters and their impact in near real-time. Focus is the complex interaction between natural hazards, infrastructure and society. The aim is not only to help understanding a disaster in near real-time but also to identify the root causes of the event to derive implications for a long-term risk reduction. One important information source therefore are historical events.

Results for a specific disaster are published in a FDA-report, which is updated and extended with new information. The readership consists of mainly three groups: scientists, media and public. Since all three groups have a very heterogeneous level of knowledge, the reports might not be understandable for all in the same way.

To improve the two aspects mentioned above (a) comparison of events and (b) reader oriented presentation of results, we want to develop a new platform. It should (a) let the reader interactively search the database for historical event and (b) present FDA results more concisely and focused on the reader’s status of knowledge. Current working title is “CEDIM Event Explorer”.

In the end, a user oriented visualization of FDA results can increase the spreading of the disaster analysis and it can make a valuable contribution to the further use of the results.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

User Oriented Visualisation

User Oriented Visualisation
Ansprechpartner:

Danijel Schorlemmer

Kurzbeschreibung des Projekts und seiner Ziele

Aufbau_EvEx

CEDIM hat mit der Forensischen Katastrophenanalyse (FDA) eine interdisziplinäre Forschung begonnen. Dabei werden Naturkatastrophen und ihre Auswirkungen ereignisnah analysiert. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf der Interaktion zwischen dem Naturereignis und den technischen Anlagen und Infrastrukturen wie auch gesellschaftlichen Strukturen. Ziel ist es nicht nur, die Katastrophe zeitnah aufzubereiten, sondern auch die wichtigsten Ursachen für die jeweilige Katastrophe zu identifizieren und hieraus Implikationen für eine langfristige Schadensminimierung abzuleiten. Dabei ist ein Blick auf vergangene Ereignisse oftmals sehr hilfreich.

Ergebnisse werden in einem FDA-Bericht zur jeweiligen Katastrophe veröffentlicht, der mit aktuellen Erkenntnissen erweitert wird. Dieser wird vor allem von drei Nutzergruppen gelesen: Wissenschaftlern, Medien und der Öffentlichkeit. Dabei werden die Ergebnisse aber jeweils nur in einer Form präsentiert, was sie nicht immer für alle Leser gleichermaßen verständlich macht.

Um die zwei aufgezeigten Problemfelder (a) der Vergleichbarkeit von Ereignissen sowie (b) der Präsentation der Ergebnisse zu verbessern, soll eine Plattform entwickelt werden, welche: (a) nach vergangen und vergleichbaren Ereignissen suchen lässt und (b) die aktuellen Ergebnisse noch prägnanter darstellt und nutzergerecht präsentiert. Arbeitstitel ist zur Zeit „CEDIM Event Explorer“

Am Ende kann eine nutzerorientierte Visualisierung des FDA-Ergebnisse die Verwendbarkeit der Katastrophenanalysen  deutlich erhöhen und einen wertvollen Beitrag zur weiteren Verwendung der Ergebnisse leisten.