Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Former CEDIM projects

Causal Loss Analysis

 

Immediately after a hazard impacts a population, there are many important questions raised about the level of impact and the emergency response needs. Immediate response is often required before complete data are available. The causal loss analysis project focuses on creating methodologies to estimate and identify the key indicators and root causes in the immediate impact of a major event in terms of building damage and homelessness/shelter needs based on widely available data. This allows for the quantification of the scale of the disaster for response.

go to project

 

Database CBR

Within the „Forensic Disaster Analysis“ various institutes of KIT and the Geoforschungszentrum Potsdam are working together on an interdisciplinary basis. The knowledge database to be developed in this subproject has a cross-sectoral task since several subprojects intend to use it. The knowledge database is a combination of existing and event-specific databases containing historical disasters such as earthquakes, floods, or extreme weather events. This allows further usage of analysis tools in the frame of CEDIM FDA. In particular, we focus on case-based reasoning which is a methodology that utilizes similar past events in order to draw conclusions about a new and to a large extent unknown event. The historical database can either be extended by experts or new cases over the course of time.
go to project

Global Dynamic Exposure

 

It is becoming more and more important to monitor risk in the context of natural catastrophes. With growing cities and changes in urban developments, risk is changing in complex ways as it is not scaling with population size but depends on changing building stock, resilience measures, and also city structure. Thus, monitoring of exposure and vulnerability indicators is providing the necessary tool to understand the dynamic nature of risk in urban environments. Because of the immense number and variety of buildings, exposure-, and vulnerability-related data, surveying exposure on the building-bybuilding level cannot be compiled by experts only.

go to project

 

Information Gap Analysis

The quality of a disaster response can affect how severely a society is harmed by a disastrous event. While an efficient response can help to reduce casualties and suffering, a less efficient response may aggravate the situation. In order to include the disaster response as a potentially contributing factor to the overall disaster impact, a methodology has been developed to analyze disaster response in near-real-time.
go to project

Modelling Extreme Flood

The aim research project is the development of a modelling system to quantify risks of extreme flooding in large river basins. In the system, computer models and modules are coupled together to simulate the functional chain: hydrology – hydraulics – polder diversion – dyke failure – flooding – damage estimate – risk assessment.

go to project

 

Assessment of Indirect Losses and Economic Impacts

The project aims at developing a method that enables the near-real time assessment of economic impact (both direct and indirect) for all phases of a disaster. The developed method must therefore help decision makers to come up with a good decision that is founded on a valid basis quickly although the available information may be incomplete, uncertain, lacking or conflicting. Additionally, the method should be designed to guide support the search for further information by focusing on the most relevant or vulnerable aspects. At the same time, the model hast to be easily adaptable. In this manner, newly available information can be integrated rapidly. The analysis can then be enriched successively providing near real time (as the situation unfolds) more and more detailed levels of analysis and more precise results. Finally, it must be possible to quickly adapt the model to different information systems and infrastructures to ensure that first results can be determined shortly after any potential disaster, wherever it might happen.
go to project

Rapid Flood Event Analysis

  Within the scope of “rapid flood event analysis” a methodology for the near real time analysis of large scale flood events in Germany will be developed. This comprises the compilation, analysis and evaluation of the hydro-meteorological and hydrological situation in the course of the event right up to the assessment of direct flood damages. On this basis, the event will be comparatively ranked into a catalogue of historic large scale flood events in Germany.
go to project

Slip Distribution

The goal of this project is to further develop and implement kinematic inversion techniques using displacement wave forms which include near-field terms in order to obtain a detailed description of the earthquake source within a short amount of time. One application, where rapid determination of slip distribution is crucial, is tsunami early warning. Quick and reliable assessment of earthquake magnitude avoiding saturation is essential for rapid shake-map simulation and loss estimation.
go to project

Transportation Interruptions

  The overall goal is to substantiate and extend common methodologies of indirect loss assessment towards rapid loss estimation. Therefore this project contributes to a better understanding of economic losses of events harming transport systems. This project specifically aims to:
  • identify the data requirements and find innovate estimation methods in case of low data availability
  • classify the impacts of a disrupting event
  • determine the parties concerned
  • analyze possible methods of quantification and monetization of the impacts
  • assess the indirect costs associated with a disrupting event

go to project

User Oriented Visualisation

Within the new project “Forensic Disaster Analysis” (FDA), CEDIM started an interdisciplinary research initiative to analyze natural disasters and their impact in near real-time. Focus is the complex interaction between natural hazards, infrastructure and society. The aim is not only to help understanding a disaster in near real-time but also to identify the root causes of the event to derive implications for a long-term risk reduction. One important information source therefore are historical events.

go to project

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Abgeschlossene CEDIM Projekte

Causal Loss Analysis

 

Unmittelbar nachdem Menschen von einer Naturkatastrophe in Mitleidenschaft gezogen wurden tritt eine Vielzahl wichtiger Fragen in Bezug auf das Ausmaß des Unglücks und die notwendigen Hilfemaßnahmen auf. Oft ist unverzügliches Handeln von Nöten, bevor überhaupt vollständige Daten zur Verfügung stehen. Das ‚Causal Loss Analysis‘-Projekt konzentriert sich darauf, Methoden zur Abschätzung und Identifizierung der Schlüsselindikatoren zu entwickeln sowie die Schadensursachen des eigentlichen Ereignisses herauszufinden, wobei hierzu weithin verfügbare Daten über Gebäudeschäden und Obdachlosigkeit genutzt werden.Die Quantifizierung des Ausmaßes der Katastrophe ermöglicht zielgerichtetes Handeln.

zur Projektseite

Entwicklung einer CEDIM Datenbank und Einsatz von case-based reasoning zur Analyseunterstützung

Im Rahmen der „Forensic Disaster Analysis“ arbeiten verschiedene Institute des KIT und des Geoforschungszentrums Potsdam interdisziplinär zusammen. Die in diesem Teilprojekt zu entwickelnde Wissensdatenbank hat eine Querschnittsaufgabe, da viele andere Teilprojekte darauf zugreifen. Die Wissensdatenbank bündelt Informationen aller existierenden ereignisspezifischen Datenbanken, die Informationen über historische Katastrophen wie Erdbeben, Überflutungen oder Extremwetterereignisse beinhalten, um diese Analysewerkzeugen zugänglich zu machen. Eines davon ist das sogenannte Fallbasierte Schließen (case-based reasoning), das unter Verwendung ähnlicher, vergangener Ereignisse erste Rückschlüsse auf ein neues noch weitgehend unbekanntes Ereignis ermöglicht. Die historische Fallbasis kann sowohl durch Experten als auch im Laufe der Zeit durch neue Fälle erweitert werden.
zur Projektseite

Global Dynamic Exposure

 

Die Überwachung der im Kontext mit Naturkatastrophen stehenden Risiken wird immer wichtiger. Durch wachsende Städte und Veränderungen in der urbanen Entwicklung verändert sich auch das Risiko auf eine komplexe Art und Weise, was nicht nur mit der Bevölkerungsgröße in Verbindung steht, sondern auch von der Bausubstanz, der Belastbarkeit und den Stadtstrukturen abhängt. Die Überwachung von Exposure- und Vulnerabilitäts-Indikatoren stellt deshalb ein wichtiges Werkzeug dar, um das dynamische Verhalten von Risiken durch Naturgefahren in urbanen Umgebungen zu verstehen. Auf Grund der immensen Anzahl und Vielfalt von Gebäuden sowie weiteren Exposure- und Vulnerabilitiäts-bezogenen Daten, kann die Begutachtung des Exposure auf einem building-by-building Level nicht allein durch Experten zusammengestellt werden.

zur Projektseite

Information Gap Analysis

Die Qualität einer Katastrophenbewältigung hat einen Einfluss darauf, wie stark sich ein katastrophales Ereignis auf eine Gesellschaft auswirkt. Während eine effiziente Katastrophenhilfe dazu beitragen kann, das Ausmaß von Opfern und Verlusten zu verminden, so kann eine weniger effiziente Hilfeleistung die Situation verschärfen. Um die Rolle der Katastrophenbewältigung als potentiellen Einflussfaktor auf die gesamte Katastrophenauswirkung zu beurteilen, wurde eine Methodik entwickelt, die Katastrophenbewältigung in nahezu-Echtzeit analysiert. 
zur Projektseite

Modellierung extremer Hochwassersituationen

Die Helmholtz-Nachwuchswissenschaftlergruppe entwickelt Informations- und Modellierungstools zur Quantifizierung und Darstellung des Hochwasserrisikos im Einzugsgebiet der Elbe. Dabei wird die komplette Wirkungskette "Meteorologie – Hydrologie – Hydraulik – Geotechnik – Überflutung – Schaden" berücksichtigt.

zur Projektseite

Methodik zur (schnellen) Abschätzung der ökonomischen Auswirkungen von Naturkatastrophen in Industrieunternehmen und über Supply Chains

Ziel des Projekts Schnelle Abschätzung der ökonomischen Auswirkungen von Naturkatastrophen in Industrieunternehmen und über Supply Chains ist die Entwicklung einer Methodik zur schnellen Abschätzung der indirekten Schäden in nahe Echtzeit in allen Phasen des Katastrophenereignisses. Es gilt also, eine Methode zu entwickeln, die es Entscheidungsträgern erlaubt, auch bei fehlender, unsicherer, verzerrter und unvollständiger Information schnell gute Entscheidungen zu treffen und zielgerichtet nach weiteren relevanten Informationen zu suchen. Gleichzeitig muss das Modell schnell und einfach erweiterbar sein, um wichtige Informationen möglichst sofort bei Verfügbarkeit zu berücksichtigen, um sukzessive immer aussagekräftigere Analyse mit präziseren Ergebnissen zu liefern. Zudem müssen die Modelle schnell auf unterschiedliche Informationssysteme und Infrastrukturen angepasst werden können, um für verschiedene Katastrophen – egal, wo sie sich ereignen – schnell anwendbar zu sein.
zur Projektseite

Schnelle Hochwasserereignisanalyse

  Im Rahmen der „Schnellen Hochwassereignisanalyse“ wird eine Methode für die nahe Echtzeit Analyse großräumiger Hochwasserereignisse in Deutschland entwickelt. Dies umfasst die Zusammenführung, Analyse und Bewertung der hydrometeorologischen und hydrologischen Situation im Verlauf des Ereignisses bis hin zur Abschätzung direkter Hochwasserschäden. Auf dieser Grundlage erfolgt eine vergleichende Einordnung in einen Katalog vergangener großräumiger Hochwasserereignisse.
zur Projektseite

Slipverteilung

Ziel dieses Projekts ist die Weiterentwicklung und Implementierung kinematischer Inversionstechniken, welche Dislokationswellenformen inklusive Nahfeldtermen verwenden, um möglichst rasch eine detaillierte Beschreibung der Erdbebenquelle zu erhalten. Eine Anwendung, bei der eine schnelle Bestimmung der Slipverteilung entscheidend ist, ist die Tsunami-Frühwarnung. Ebenso ist eine schnelle und zuverlässige Ermittlung der Magnitude unter Vermeidung von Sättigungseffekten wichtig zur Erstellung von sogenannten shake-maps und zur Schadensabschätzung.
zur Projektseite

Transportunterbrechungen

  Seit 2010 untersucht der Lehrstuhl für Netzwerkökonomie am Institut für Volkswirtschaftslehre (ECON) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Kay Mitusch die Erhebung und Schätzung solcher indirekter Schäden. Zwei Fallstudien, über den Ausbruch des Eyjafjallajökull und den Schneesturm Daisy, wurden exemplarisch untersucht, um Erkenntnisse über die notwendigen Daten, Arten von indirekten Schäden, Möglichkeiten der Monetarisierung und Verwertung für eine Abschätzung der indirekten Schäden zu erlangen.
zur Projektseite

User Oriented Visualisation

CEDIM hat mit der Forensischen Katastrophenanalyse (FDA) eine interdisziplinäre Forschung begonnen. Dabei werden Naturkatastrophen und ihre Auswirkungen ereignisnah analysiert. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf der Interaktion zwischen dem Naturereignis und den technischen Anlagen und Infrastrukturen wie auch gesellschaftlichen Strukturen. Ziel ist es nicht nur, die Katastrophe zeitnah aufzubereiten, sondern auch die wichtigsten Ursachen für die jeweilige Katastrophe zu identifizieren und hieraus Implikationen für eine langfristige Schadensminimierung abzuleiten. Dabei ist ein Blick auf vergangene Ereignisse oftmals sehr hilfreich.
zur Projektseite