Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Project duration 2004 - 2007. The final results of the projects have been presented at AKOM Istanbul on October, 22nd 2008 (Agenda Link). The results are also available in the final project documentation: final report

 

Introduction

 

The megacity Istanbul is ranked, according to the GESI 2001 study made by Geohazard International, second in the list of investigated megacities concerning expected casualties in case of an earthquake. Since then, its population has grown by approximately 250.000 inhabitants per year. Therefore, the earthquake risk for Istanbul is changing due to population growth, the resulting building activity, but also due to a change in earthquake hazard caused by stress accumulation and stress transfer from previous events (see Figure 1).

 

Figure 1 Apparent westward migration of earthquakes along NAFZ (Grosser, GFZ, 2001)

Aims

 

CEDIM aims at developing methods for monitoring earthquake hazard, fragility, and vulnerability. These methods should allow for near real-time updating of relevant parameters in order to cope with the development of the city. Following the risk chain the results and methods developed in the four sub-projects Numerical stress field modelling, Microzonation, Fragility & Vulnerability, and Indirect Losses will be merged and made available for catastrophe management and urban planning.

 


Related projects and partners

 

Related research is financed in the framework of the I-EOS (Integrated Earth Observation System) PhD program of the Helmholtz Gemeinschaft . The GeoForschungsZentrum Potsdam supports the project with further research activities in the region.

 

 

Contact
name title phone e-mail
Prof. Dr. +49 331 288-1288 zschauZbm6∂gfz-potsdam de

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Erdbebenrisiko und Risikoentwicklung in der Megacity Istanbul

Projektlaufzeit 2004-2007. Das Projekt wurde mit dem Abschlussworkshop (AGENDA-Link) am 22. Oktober 2008 im AKOM Istanbul beendet. Der Abschlussbericht mit den Endergebnissen der einzelnen Projekte ist hier erhältlich: Abschlussbericht

 

Einleitung

 

Die Megacity İstanbul wird laut GESI 2001 Studie, die von Geohazard International  durchgeführt wurde, bereits an zweiter Stelle in der Liste der untersuchten Megacities bezüglich der zu erwartenden Opfer im Falle eines Erdbebens geführt. Seit Erstellung dieser Liste ist die Bevölkerung weiter um etwa 250.000 Einwohner pro Jahr gewachsen. Das Erdbebenrisiko verändert sich also in İstanbul dynamisch durch das Anwachsen der Bevölkerung, der daraus resultierenden Bautätigkeit, aber auch durch eine Veränderung in der Erdbebengefährdung selbst, nämlich durch Stressaufbau und –umlagerungen als Folge früherer Ereignisse (Abbildung 1).

 

Abbildung 1 Migration der Beben entlang der NAFZ nach Westen (Grosser, GFZ, 2001)

Ziele

 

CEDIM strebt die Entwicklung von Methoden zur Überwachung von Erdbebengefährdung, Fragilität und Vulnerabilität an. Diese Methoden sollen die Aktualisierung von relevanten Parametern in beinahe Echtzeit ermöglichen, um der Stadtentwicklung gerecht zu werden. In Anlehnung an die Risikokette werden die Ergebnisse und Methoden in vier Unterprojekten entwickelt: Numerische Spannungsmodellierung, Mikrozonierung, Fragilität & Vulnerabilität und Indirekte Schäden. Die Ergebnisse sollen zusammengeführt und den zuständigen Stellen für Katastrophenmanagement und Stadtplanung zur Verfügung gestellt werden.  

 


Zusätzliche Projekte und Partner

 

Zusätzliche Forschung zum Thema wird im Rahmen des I-EOS (Integrated Earth Observation System) Doktorandenprogramms der Helmholtz Gemeinschaft finanziert. Darüber hinaus unterstützt das GeoForschungsZentrum Potsdam das Projekt mit zusätzlichen Forschungsaktivitäten in der Region.

 

 

Ansprechpartner
Name Titel Tel. E-Mail
Prof. Dr. +49 331 288-1288 zschauXnf1∂gfz-potsdam de